Language Select
瓦里安標誌

癌症照護的未來: 從承諾走向真實

未來... 場景

2048 年 6 月 11 日,就在其 45 歲生日的幾個月後,Victoria Anderson 於當地癌症中心與她的跨科別癌症照護團隊 (MCCT) 會面。對其進行年度體檢之後,團隊在 Vicky 的血液中發現了循環腫瘤細胞,這表明她患上了早期乳腺癌。之後進行的液體活檢證實了此診斷結果。Vicky 的初級照護醫生與 MCCT 進行了聯絡,將她轉到癌症中心就診,同時其作為 Vicky 團隊的主要照護成員出席了此次會面。

作為 MCCT 的團隊負責人,一位癌症專科醫師向 Vicky 說明其身患 I 期乳腺癌。雖然這一診斷結果很嚴重,應慎重對待,但讓人振奮的訊息是,專科醫師表明在 2048 年,早期乳腺癌的預後是非常樂觀的。藉助目前的治療方式、標準化方案和綜合照護管理措施,早期乳腺癌患者在 5 年內的生存率為 96%,10 年內為 92%,20 年後則為 91%。換言之,透過綜合性跨科別團隊提供的適當照護,Vicky 不僅有很大的機率能夠生存下來,還可在長時間內擺脫癌症的折磨。

在與 MCCT 會面期間,團隊為 Vicky 提供了個人化的治療計劃,而這得益于其透過人工智慧 (AI) 取得的大量早期乳腺癌治療結果資料。Vicky 的治療計劃包含一個演算法,其中展示了照護團隊將要考量的所有可行治療方式。這些治療方式包含放射療法、聯合免疫療法、機器人手術、微波消融以及各種新興療法,如納米粒子療法。根據透過治療期間所取得影像進行的聯合診斷和治療回應評估結果,團隊將即時調整 Vicky 的治療計劃。MCCT 還讓 Vicky 與癌症中心的癌症倖存者和健康生活方式團隊進行了接觸,這樣她就可以瞭解可能影響乳腺癌倖存者的生活方式因素,由此對生活方式進行必要的調整。最後但同樣重要的是,Vicky 安排與其照護團隊進行的後續拜訪,並獲得適當的聯絡資訊,以便在遇到任何問題或疑慮時可以咨詢團隊成員。

明確瞭解所有可用的治療方式,確認個人化治療方案,安排後續拜訪,以及清楚地瞭解照護團隊可以提供的治療之後,Vicky 結束了此次會面,她感覺自己已經成為 MCCT 中積極進行癌症治療的一員。她感覺自己參與到照護工作的各種方面,對自己能夠克服癌症的折磨並最終能有幸福健康的生活充滿信心。換言之,雖然 Vicky 對癌症深感擔憂,但她堅信在團隊的協助下,她可順利度過難關並享受接下來的美好生活。她並不感到害怕。

在接下來的 30 年內打造一個全球人類均無懼癌症的世界,這樣的願景對於某些人來說就像科幻小說一樣遙不可及。癌症仍然是全球最致命、最難以治愈的疾病之一。然而,藉助目前取得的諸多進展,這一願景有望在 2048 年變成現實。

2018 年的癌症治療現狀如何?全球罹病率不斷上升,癌症照護呈現分散化

目前,癌症是我們所面臨的全球最大健康挑戰之一。癌症是全球第二大致死病因。在全球範圍內,近 1/6 的死亡是由癌症引發的。2015 年,全球約 900 萬人死於癌症。 1

這是令人震驚的資料,由此引發全球性的癌症照護挑戰。在此背景下,我們有更多的理由對癌症照護的光明未來充滿希望。一些專家預測,癌症在接下來的 30 年內完全有可能成為類似於糖尿病的易控制慢性疾病,因此診斷出癌症的患者將不再像今天一樣感到恐懼。全球網路、雲端計算和數位化通訊不斷取得進步,因此卓越癌症照護中心得以與全球範圍內需要得到癌症照護的患者更加緊密地聯繫起來。在診斷學、基因組學、精準醫學、免疫療法、人工智慧、機器人手術、放射治療和資料分析方面,每年都湧現出新的發現和方法。在接下來 30 年內,這些新的技術和治療方法將得到協同使用,共同打造出癌症倖存者乃常見之事的美好世界。利用上述新興的治療方式和技術,我們可以預見癌症照護的美好前景,即大量類型的腫瘤可以得到有效管控甚至徹底根除。 2-3

利用... 上述新興的治療方式和技術,我們可以預見癌症照護的美好前景,即大量類型的腫瘤可以得到有效管控甚至徹底根除。

為癌症患者打造更加光明的未來:所面臨的挑戰

從分散化照護發展到綜合照護。

要在接下來 30 年內實現全球人類無懼癌症的美好世界,我們所面臨的重要挑戰之一就是擺脫目前的分散化癌症照護格局,而是發展到更具綜合性的癌症照護方式。我們目前面臨的主要挑戰是協助消除癌症專科醫師、初級照護醫師和附屬醫療保健提供者與患者之間的溝通障礙。 提供綜合性的、跨科別的癌症照護團隊,讓癌症患者成為共用資訊和做出治療決定的積極參與者,這是有效推動癌症照護的必要條件。4 確保學術機構、癌症治療中心、社群腫瘤機構和初級照護提供者之間有效溝通是關鍵所在。醫師和技術解決方案提供商的重要共同目標是,讓醫師有更多的時間來治療患者,而不是將時間浪費在技術上面。與此同時,為患者提供相應的工具,讓他們成為癌症照護團隊中更加活躍的成員,這是提升療效的關鍵所在。

對醫療專業人員的要求不斷提高

接下來 30 年內,可用技術、資料分析和癌症治療方法將呈指數級快速發展,因此要求醫師掌握的技能組合也會發生重大變革。需要掌握新的能力。從事癌症照護的醫師和其他醫療保健專業人員需要接受不同的醫療教育、訓練和認證。

癌症早期偵測、診斷和局部治療方法

及早診斷出癌症可大幅度提高成功治療癌症的可能性。藉助及早診斷,更多癌症病例可在腫瘤部位進行目標局部治療,而無需進行全身治療。 在這些病例中,確診患有早期癌症的患者可能無需進行化療等全身治療。減少全身治療可顯著降低治療帶來的副作用。

及早診斷對治療結果和患者倖存率都將帶來變革性的潛在影響。人工智慧和機器學習已被證明可以透過更準確地識別高危患者、提高診斷測試的敏感性和特異性,提高我們篩查患者群體和進行風險分層的能力,改善治療計劃和預測治療結果,從而改進癌症的提早偵測。5,6 用作「液體活檢」的血液測試可識別循環腫瘤細胞,同時可及早偵測、診斷和治療癌症,而這些技術目前正在開發階段。除了可用於治療癌症的藥物和生物製劑所取得的進步之外,強度調製 X 射線和質子治療(IMRT 和 IMPT)、立體定位放射外科 (SRS) 和機器人手術等其他治療方式也將實施越來越精確的治療。將及早診斷癌症的能力與局部治療疾病的方式相結合,這些技術將更頻繁地用於特定類型癌症的治療中。 所有這些進步都有可能提供更好的治療結果,改善數百萬癌症患者的生活便利性和生活品質。

充分挖掘基因組學的強大力量

加速瞭解癌症的複雜分子基礎有助於邁向泛科學治療,其結合了基因組學、蛋白質組學、代謝組學等。泛科學治療提供了一個擴展架構,用於瞭解分子途徑的複雜網路以及腫瘤微環境的特徵。對推動引發癌症之因素的更全面理解顯著增加了可用目標的數量,並可採用更高的精確度來攻擊這些目標。 7

及早診斷對治療結果和患者倖存率都將帶來變革性的潛在影響。

將資料轉化為決策支援工具

在過去的十年內,我們親眼目睹了巨量資料的爆炸性增長,特別是我們收集和分析大量資料點的能力的全面提升。政府、企業和學術界都非常關注提高綜合所有這些資料並將其納入可操作情報收集工作的能力。我們在此方面取得的成功將決定我們在未來 30 年內變革癌症治療的程度。 巨量資料的四個「V」:(檔案容量、速度、多樣性和準確性)說明了巨量資料如何擴展以滿足癌症照護需求,以及如何應對有效管理、確保資料質量和準確性所固有的挑戰,以便為癌症患者提供有意義的結果。容量是指目前正在產生的龐大資料量。速度是指資料的快速累積。多樣性是指不同資料集的激增,以及所建立資料集的廣泛格式、操作環境、專業、疾病狀況。關鍵所在是對這些諸多的不同資料集進行標準化,以便它們共同為推動治療提供有意義的、可操作的資訊。由於如此眾多的資料以越來越快的速度產生,並且現實中有如此多的不同治療環境和疾病狀況,這些資料的準確性 - 無論其是否精確無誤 - 突顯重要性,因為健康保健從業人員和患者越來越多地依賴這些資料進行治療。 8

擁有大量資料只是一方面。將資料轉化為能夠有效支援醫師和患者決策的工具是一項重要的挑戰,其中有大量工作有待完成。 這就要求政府、大型機構和私人診所之間實施更加標準化的資料集和電子健康記錄 (EHR)。它要求國際範圍內的各種資料庫之間實現更全面的整合,包括美國臨床腫瘤醫學會 (ASCO) 的 CancerLinQ®,美國的監測、流行病學和結果資料庫 (SEER),世界衛生組織的全球癌症觀察 (GCO) 和歐盟的歐洲癌症資訊系統 (ECIS)。還要求改進對治療指南的利用。最後但同等重要的是,需要大幅度改進追蹤、分析和使用患者報告結果的能力,從而即時變更研究和治療方案。所有這些工作均需要遵從國家和國際資料隱私權法律和法規,並尊重全球癌症患者的隱私權。

充分挖掘免疫療法的治療潛力

自從 2010 年首次易普利姆瑪隨機臨床試驗發佈以來,人們已經發現,標靶免疫療法(誘發身體免疫系統攻擊癌症的治療方法)可能控制甚至根除某些類型的癌症。雖然這些治療方法各異,且有些方法還處於早期研發階段,但從總體來說,免疫療法對數種疾病的治療有著明顯的成功前景。在過去 5 年內,獲批的研究型標靶免疫治療藥物越來越多地面世,由此人們更多關注將免疫治療與其他治療方法(如放射療法)相結合以治療某些類型癌症的可能性。到目前為止,這些組合研究取得了令人振奮的成果,但諸多研究人員認為研究工作才是冰山一角。要實現免疫治療的早期光明前景,我們仍然需要克服主要的挑戰。這些挑戰涵蓋如下:根據腫瘤生物標記物為患者選擇特定的治療方式,高效管控毒性,根據特定腫瘤類型確定免疫療法和其他療法的理想組合,以及有效管理治療費用。

妥善處理臨床研究和治療費用

2016 年,Tufts 藥物研發中心估計新藥面世的總體費用為 28 億美元,並且這一費用還在不斷升高。隨著發展中國家/地區的癌症發病率和死亡率持續上升,成本效益必須成為癌症治療和臨床研究的一項指導原則。在此研究領域內,透過減少完成臨床試驗所需的試驗、提升試驗所取得資料的品質和實用性,資料分析、人工智慧、機器學習都可產生巨大的影響力。除了研發出有望治療特定類型腫瘤的新藥物和生物製劑之外,影像、放射治療、機器人手術、立體定向手術領域的全新癌症治療技術也為癌症專業醫師提供了更多可供選擇的治療方式。在接下來 30 年內,為了成功應對管控成本效益方面的挑戰,同時提升研發出光明前景治療方式的可能性,企業、政府、學術機構和患者權益團體之間的合作就顯得至關重要。

瓦里安在協助打造癌症照護光明未來方面所扮演的角色

瓦里安是研發和提供跨科別綜合癌症照護解決方案的全球領先企業。我們專注於打造人們無懼癌症的美好世界。

在瓦里安,我們的發展戰略是以患者和提供者為思考中心,打造出具備如下三個發展支柱的生態體系:透過有效的決策支援工具提供智慧型治療、採用以知識為基礎的醫療(將相關知識引入照護點)以及實施可從匯總資料中取得可行洞察觀點的分析技術。瓦里安為全球帶來抗擊癌症的全新工具,為解決目前碎片化照護所面臨的問題提供解決方案,以及定義目前的癌症照護前景。

瓦里安在調強 X 光和質子放射治療、立體定位治療、機器人手術方面取得了一定的進展,這有助於重新定義當今癌症治療的「尖端技術」。藉助我們的實用性整合軟體系統和解決方案,全球領先的癌症治療中心、學術研究機構和社群腫瘤診所可以作為其照護團隊的活躍成員,為患者提供綜合性的跨科別照護。瓦里安致力於打造一個涵蓋成本效益產品和服務的生態體系,旨在協助解決全球癌症社群面臨的最重要問題。藉助此生態體系,我們的解決方案有望對每位需要治療方案的癌症患者產生影響,無論其身在何處。

在瓦里安,我們相信自己對癌症治療連續性產品和服務的專注於使得我們處於一個非常有利的地位,有望成為接下來 30 年及更遠時間段內推動癌症照護進展的整合解決方案供應商。

參考資料

  1. 世界衛生組織。《癌症現狀報告》;2018 年 2 月刊。http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs297/en/。最近存取於 2018 年 5 月 3 日。
  2. 美國臨床腫瘤學會。《打造腫瘤學的未來:2030 年的癌症照護》。ASCO 2012 年年會。可從 https://www.asco.org/sites/default/files/shapingfuture-lowres.pdf 取得。最近存取於 2018 年 5 月 7 日。
  3. PD-1 中所指引的 Ribas A. 腫瘤免疫療法。《新英格蘭醫學雜誌》2012 刊;366:2517-2519。
  4. 社群癌症中心協會。《賦予患者自主權、吸引提供商:以患者為中心的未來腫瘤學照護》。2016 年秋季刊。
  5. Devi RDH. Devi MI. 《異常偵測演算法結合決策樹分類程式對乳腺癌進行早期診斷》。《進階工程技術期刊》。2016 年 4-6 月刊;7(2):93-98。
  6. Enshaei A. Robson CN. Edmondson RJ. 《作為卵巢癌預後和預測工具的人工智慧系統》。《外科腫瘤學年鑒》。2015 年 11 月刊;22(12):3970-5。
  7. Chrischilles EA. Friedman S. Ritzwoller DP. Selby JV. 《患者、資料和癌症照護進展》。《柳葉刀-腫瘤學》。2017 年 11 月 (18) 刊;e624-e625。
  8. aghupathi W. Raghupathi V. 《醫療保健領域的巨量資料分析:前景和潛力》。《國際健康信息科學及系統期刊》2014 年刊,2:3。可從 https://link.springer.com/article/10.1186/2047-2501-2-3 取得。最近存取於 2018 年 5 月 7 日。
  9. Larkin J. Chiarion-Sileni V. Gonzalez R. 等人。《納武單抗和易普利姆瑪聯合或單藥治療黑色素瘤》。《新英格蘭醫學雜誌》 2015 年刊;373:23-34。
  10. DiMasi JA. Grabowski HG. Hansen RA. 《製藥行業的創新:研發費用的全新估算》。《衛生經濟學期刊》2016 年刊;47:20-33。

Language Select
Varian Logo

The Future of Cancer Care: Moving from Promise to Reality

Snapshot... from the future

On June 11, 2048, a few months after her 45th birthday, Victoria Anderson is meeting with her Multidisciplinary Cancer Care Team (MCCT) at the local cancer center. Following her annual physical, circulating tumor cells indicative of early stage breast cancer were found in Vicky’s blood. A follow-up liquid biopsy confirms the diagnosis. Vicky’s primary care doctor, who is linked with the MCCT, has referred her to the cancer center and is present at the meeting as the primary care member of Vicky’s team.

The MCCT leader, a cancer specialist, explains to Vicky that she has Stage I breast cancer. While this news is serious and should not be taken lightly, the good news, as the doctor explains, is that in 2048, the prognosis for early stage breast cancer is very positive. With current treatment options, standardized protocols and integrated care management, disease-free survival for early stage breast cancer patients averages 96% at five years, 92% at 10 years and 91% after 20 years. In other words, with proper care provided by an integrated, multidisciplinary team, the chances are very good that Vicky will not only survive but will be cancer-free over the long term.

During her visit with the MCCT, thanks to the benefit of artificial intelligence (AI) and access to enormous volumes of data on treatment outcomes in early stage breast cancer, Vicky is provided with a personalized treatment plan. Her plan includes an algorithm showing all of the possible treatment options her care team will consider. Among these options are radiation therapy, combination immunotherapy, robotic surgery, microwave ablation, and emerging treatments such as nanoparticle therapy. Vicky’s treatment plan will be adjusted in real time based on companion diagnostics and treatment response assessments through imaging during treatment. The MCCT will also connect Vicky with the cancer center’s cancer survivorship and healthy lifestyles teams so she can learn about lifestyle factors that may affect breast cancer survivors and make any necessary lifestyle adjustments. Last but not least, Vicky schedules follow-up visits with her care team and is provided with the appropriate contact information for team members in case of any questions or concerns.

With all of her available treatment options clearly understood, a personalized treatment plan provided with follow-up visits scheduled, and a clear understanding of what she can expect from her care team, Vicky leaves her visit feeling like an active member of the MCCT for her cancer treatment. She feels involved in all aspects of her care, and very confident that she will be able to overcome her cancer and move forward to live a happy and healthy life. In other words, while Vicky is concerned, she is confident that with the help of her team, she will get through this and enjoy the rest of her life. She is not afraid.

Achieving this vision of a world without fear of cancer within the next 30 years may sound like science fiction to some. Cancer remains one of the deadliest and most difficult to treat diseases in the world. However, with many of the advances being made today, it is entirely possible for this vision to become reality by 2048.

Where are we in 2018? Rising global incidence and fragmented cancer care

Cancer is currently one of the biggest global health challenges we face. It is the second leading cause of death worldwide. Globally, one out of every six deaths are due to cancer. An estimated 9 million people died from cancer worldwide in 2015. 1

Against this backdrop of daunting figures and global challenges, there are today more reasons to be hopeful for the future of cancer care than ever before. Over the next 30 years, some experts predict that it is entirely possible that cancer can become a manageable, chronic disease, similar to diabetes, so that a cancer diagnosis will no longer hold the fear that it does today. Advances in global networking, cloud computing and digital communications are enabling greater connectivity between centers of excellence in cancer care and populations in need throughout the world. New discoveries and methodologies in diagnostics, genomics, precision medicine, immunotherapy, artificial intelligence, robotic surgery, radiotherapy and data analytics are being introduced every year. Over the next 30 years, these new technologies and treatment approaches will be used synergistically to create a world where surviving cancer is much more commonplace. By harnessing these and other emerging treatments and technologies, we could see a future in cancer care where a number of tumor types can be effectively managed and even eradicated. 2-3

By harnessing... emerging treatments and technologies, we could see a future in cancer care where a number of tumor types can be effectively managed and even eradicated.

Achieving a better future for cancer patients: the challenges that lie ahead

From fragmented care to integrated care.

One big challenge to achieving the vision of a world without fear of cancer over the next 30 years will be moving beyond the current fragmented cancer care landscape toward a more integrated approach to cancer care. Helping to remove “silos” between cancer specialists, primary care physicians, affiliated healthcare providers and patients is a major challenge that we currently face. Providing integrated, multidisciplinary cancer care teams, where cancer patients become active participants in sharing information and making treatment decisions, is necessary to move cancer care forward.4 Ensuring connectivity between academic institutions, cancer treatment centers, community oncology practices and primary care providers is key. Empowering physicians to spend more of their time treating patients and less time wrestling with technology is an important mutual goal for physicians and for technology solutions providers. And giving patients tools that allow them to become more active and engaged members of the cancer care team is critical to improving outcomes.

Increasing demands on medical professionals

Rapid, exponential progress in available technology, data analytics and cancer treatment approaches over the next 30 years will demand significant changes in the skill sets that physicians are going to need to enter their profession. New competencies will be needed. This will require changes in medical education, training and certifications for physicians and other healthcare professionals specializing in cancer care.

Earlier detection, diagnosis and localized treatment approaches

Diagnosing cancer earlier will significantly improve the chances of successful treatment outcomes. With earlier diagnosis, more cancers will be targeted and treated locally (at the tumor site) rather than systemically. In these cases, patients diagnosed with early stage disease may not need systemic treatments such as chemotherapy. Less reliance on systemic chemotherapy can significantly reduce treatment side effects.

The potential impact earlier diagnosis will have on treatment outcomes and survival will be transformative. Artificial intelligence and machine learning have both been shown to improve the early detection of cancer by more accurately identifying at-risk patients, improving diagnostic test sensitivity and specificity, accelerating our ability to screen and risk-stratify patient populations, improving treatment planning and predicting treatment outcomes. 5,6 Blood tests used as “liquid biopsies” to identify circulating tumor cells will also enable earlier detection, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, and these technologies are currently in development. In addition to advances in available drugs and biologics to treat cancer, other treatment modalities including intensity modulated x-ray and proton therapy (IMRT and IMPT), stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS), and robotic surgery will become increasingly more precise. Coupled with the ability to diagnose cancer earlier and while the disease is still localized, these technologies will be used more frequently with curative intent for specific types of cancer. All of these advancements hold the potential of delivering better treatment outcomes and improve both convenience and quality of life for millions of cancer patients.

Harnessing the power of genomics

An accelerated understanding of the complex molecular basis of cancer is leading toward panomics, which combines genomics, proteomics, metabolomics and more. Panomics offers an expanded framework for learning about the complex networks of molecular pathways and characteristics of the tumor microenvironment. A more sophisticated understanding of the factors that drive cancer is significantly increasing the number of available targets and allowing for far greater precision in attacking those targets.7

The potential impact earlier diagnosis will have on treatment outcomes and survival will be transformative.

Transforming data into decision support tools

Over the past decade we have also witnessed an explosion in Big Data, particularly in our ability to collect and analyze vast amounts of data points. There is great focus within governments, industry and academia on improving our ability to synthesize all of this data and leverage it into actionable intelligence. Our success in doing this will determine the degree to which we can transform cancer care over the next 30 years. The four “Vs” of Big Data:(volume, velocity, variety and veracity) illustrate the ways in which big data is expanding to meet the needs of cancer care, and the challenges inherent in effectively managing and ensuring the quality and accuracy of this data so that it delivers meaningful outcomes to cancer patients. Volume refers to the incredible amounts of data now being generated. Velocity is the rapid speed at which data is accumulating. Variety is the proliferation of different data sets and the wide range of formats, practice settings, specialties and disease states for which these data sets are being created. Standardizing these many different data sets so that together they provide meaningful, actionable information that drives treatment is key. And with so much data being generated at an increasingly rapid rate and for so many different treatment settings and disease states, the veracity of this data—whether it is accurate and error-free --is extremely important as healthcare practitioners and patients come to rely on it more and more. 8

Having large volumes of data is one thing. Turning that data into useful decision support tools for physicians and patients is a major challenge where a significant amount of work remains to be done. This will require greater standardization of data sets and electronic health records (EHRs) between governments, large institutions and private practices. It will require better integration between databases including ASCO’s CancerLinQ® the Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Results (SEER) database in the United States, the World Health Organization’s Global Cancer Observatory (GCO) and the EU’s European Cancer Information System (ECIS) internationally. And it will require the improved utilization of treatment guidelines. Last but not least, it will require significant improvements in the ability to track, analyze and use patient reported outcomes to change research and treatment protocols in real time. All of this will need to be done in ways that adhere to national and international data privacy laws and regulations and respect the confidentiality of individual cancer patients throughout the world.

Tapping the potential of immunotherapy

Since 2010, when the first randomized clinical trial of ipilimumab was published, it has become clear that targeted immunotherapy—treatments that trigger the body’s immune system to fight cancer— has the potential to control or even eradicate certain types of cancer. While there are different approaches, and some are in early phases of development, immunotherapy in general holds enormous promise for several disease processes. In the past five years, the increased availability of approved and investigational targeted immunotherapy drugs has led to more interest in the potential of combining immunotherapy treatments with other treatment modalities (e.g. radiotherapy) for certain types of cancer. The results of these combination studies have been encouraging so far, but many researchers believe that we are just starting to scratch the surface. There are still major challenges to be overcome in order for immunotherapy to deliver on its early promise. These include patient selection for a particular treatment based on tumor biomarkers, effectively managing toxicities, identifying ideal combinations of immunotherapy and other therapies for specific tumor types, and managing treatment costs.

Tackling clinical research and treatment costs

In 2016, The Tufts Center for the Study of Drug Development estimated the total cost to bring a new drug to market to be $2.8 billion and rising. With cancer incidence and mortality continuing to rise in developing countries, cost effectiveness must become the guiding principle in cancer treatment and clinical research. This is an area where data analytics, AI and machine learning can have an enormous impact by reducing the time required to complete clinical trials and improving the quality and utility of the data generated from those trials. In addition to promising new drugs and biologics to treat specific tumor types, new cancer treatment technologies in imaging, radiotherapy, robotic surgery and stereotactic surgery are adding to the range of treatment options available to cancer specialists. Over the next 30 years, to successfully address the challenges of managing cost effectiveness and improved access to promising new treatments, partnerships between industry, governments, academic institutions and patient advocacy groups will be critical.

Varian’s role in helping to create the future of cancer care

Varian is a global leader in developing and delivering multidisciplinary, integrated cancer care solutions. Our focus is on creating a world without fear of cancer.

At Varian, our strategy is to put the patient and provider at the center of our thinking and create an ecosystem with three evolving pillars: intelligent treatment delivery through effective decision support tools, knowledge-based medicine (bringing knowledge to the point of care) and analytics—obtaining actionable insights from aggregated data. Varian pursues its patient centered strategy by equipping the world with new tools to fight cancer and solutions that solve the problems of fragmented care defining the cancer care landscape of today.

Varian’s advances in intensity modulated x-ray and proton radiation therapy, stereotactic radiosurgery, and robotic surgery are helping to redefine ‘state of the art’ in cancer care today. Our practice integration software systems and solutions enable leading cancer treatment centers, academic research institutions and community oncology practices throughout the world to provide integrated, multidisciplinary care with the patient as an active member of their care team. Varian’s work in building an ecosystem of cost-effective products and services designed to help solve the biggest problems facing the global cancer community gives us hope that our solutions can impact every cancer patient in need, regardless of where they are in the world.

At Varian, we believe our unique focus on products and services that span the cancer care continuum places us in an ideal position to be an integrated solutions provider driving the progress of cancer care for the next 30 years and beyond.

References

  1. World Health Organization. Cancer fact sheet; February 2018. http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs297/en/. Last accessed on 5/3/18.
  2. American Society of Clinical Oncology. Shaping the Future of Oncology: Cancer Care in 2030. ASCO 2012. Available at https://www.asco.org/sites/default/files/shapingfuture-lowres.pdf. Last accessed 5/7/18.
  3. Ribas A. Tumor immunotherapy directed at PD-1. N Engl J Med 2012; 366:2517-2519.
  4. Association of Community Cancer Centers. Empowering Patients, Engaging Providers: The Future of Patient-centered Care in Oncology. Fall 2016.
  5. Devi RDH. Devi MI. Outlier detection algorithm combined with Decision tree classifier for early diagnosis of breast cancer. J. Adv Eng Tech. April-June 2016;7(2):93-98.
  6. Enshaei A. Robson CN. Edmondson RJ. Artificial intelligence systems as prognostic and predictive tools in ovarian cancer. Ann Surg Oncol. 2015 Nov;22(12):3970-5.
  7. Chrischilles EA. Friedman S. Ritzwoller DP. Selby JV. Patients, data, and progress in cancer care. Lancet Oncol. November 2017 (18);e624-e625.
  8. Raghupathi W. Raghupathi V. Big data analytics in healthcare: promise and potential. Health Information Science and Systems 2014, 2:3. Available at: https://link.springer.com/article/10.1186/2047-2501-2-3. Last accessed 5/7/18.
  9. Larkin J. Chiarion-Sileni V. Gonzalez R. et al. Combined nivolumab and ipilimumab or monotherapy in untreated melanoma. N Engl J Med. 2015;373:23-34.
  10. DiMasi JA, Grabowski HG, Hansen RA. Innovation in the pharmaceutical industry: new estimates of R&D costs. Journal of Health Economics 2016;47:20-33.