Language Select
Varian Logo
Rafael Torres
Senior Vice President, Business Development and Strategy

Rafael Torres kam im Mai 2015 als Senior Vice President für Geschäftsentwicklung und -strategie zu Varian.  In dieser Rolle leitet er die strategische Unternehmensplanung für Wachstum durch Akquisitionen, Investitionen und Partnerschaften, die unser derzeitiges Portfolio von Geschäftsbereichen ergänzen. 

Bevor er bei Varian anfing, war Rafael Torres als Global Head of Healthcare für GE Ventures und GE Equity tätig, wo er ein strategisches Investitionsportfolio aus über 30 Unternehmen im Gesundheitswesen aufbaute.  Er war Mitbegründer von GE Ventures und Mitglied in dessen oberstem Führungsgremium.  Und er leitete das Team für Investitionen im Gesundheitsbereich und vertrat GE im Aufsichtsrat von Konzerngesellschaften wie CardioDx, InSightec, LipoScience, Navinet und ParadigmHealth.

Rafael Torres war Juror bei der „Healthymagination Cancer Innovation Challenge“ und Mitglied des Beratungsgremiums für StartupHealth Transformers.  Er trat in Veröffentlichungen und Konferenzen im Gesundheitswesen wie The Gray Sheet, MedDevice Daily, SXSW, Slush Digital Health und Biomed Israel besonders in Erscheinung. 

Zuvor hatte er für die Boston Consulting Group und die Citibank N.A. gearbeitet.  Er besitzt einen MBA-Abschluss von der Harvard Business School sowie einen B.A. in Wirtschaftswissenschaften von der Universidad del Pacifico in Lima, Peru.

Language Select
Varian Logo
Rafael Torres
Senior Vice President, Business Development and Strategy

Rafael Torres joined Varian in May 2015, as senior vice president for business development and strategy.  In this role, he leads the company's strategic plans for growth through acquisitions, investments, and partnerships that complement our current portfolio of businesses. 

Prior to joining Varian, Mr. Torres, served as global head of healthcare for GE Ventures and GE Equity, where he built a strategic investments portfolio of over 30 healthcare companies.  He was a founding member of GE Ventures and a member of its senior leadership committee.  Mr. Torres led the healthcare investment team, and represented GE on portfolio company boards, including CardioDx, InSightec, LipoScience, Navinet and ParadigmHealth.

Mr. Torres was a judge of the healthymagination Cancer Innovation Challenge and a member of the StartupHealth transformers advisory panel.  He has been featured in healthcare publications and conferences including The Gray Sheet, MedDevice Daily, SXSW, Slush Digital Health and Biomed Israel. 

Previous to that, he worked for The Boston Consulting Group and Citibank N.A.  He holds an MBA degree from Harvard Business School and a B.A. in economics from the Universidad del Pacifico in Lima, Peru.

Torres