Language Select
Varian Logo
Andrew Whitman
Senior Vice President, Government Affairs

Andrew Whitman kam 2008 als Vice President, Regierungsangelegenheiten, zu Varian Medical Systems und wurde 2016 zum Senior Vice President, Regierungsangelegenheiten, befördert. Zu seinem Verantwortungsbereich zählen globale Regierungsangelegenheiten. Er setzt sich dafür ein, dass Varian auf staatlicher Ebene ein bevorzugter Partner bleibt, um Patienten und Gesundheitssystemen den Zugang zu Strahlentherapie, Protonentherapie und weiteren Onkologie-Lösungen von Varian zu ermöglichen.

Vor seiner Zeit bei Varian war Whitman als Vice President der Medical Imaging & Technology Alliance, einer Abteilung der National Electrical Manufacturers Association, tätig. Des Weiteren war er bereits bei der Carmen Group, Inc. tätig, einem Unternehmen im Bereich Government Relations aus Washington, D.C. Dort hatte er die Position des Senior Associate für medizinische Angelegenheiten inne und vertrat die Anliegen von Gesundheitsdienstleistern auf dem Capitol Hill und im US Department of Health and Human Services.

Vor seiner Tätigkeit bei der Carmen Group, Inc. wirkte Whitman als Deputy Director, Regulatory Affairsund Sonderberater der American Psychiatric Association, für die er die regulatorischen und gesundheitspolitischen Angelegenheiten auf der nationalen Agenda leitete und verwaltete. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehörte der Kontakt zu ranghohen Regierungsvertretern im Kongress, den Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services sowie der Arzneimittelzulassungsbehörde (Food and Drug Administration; FDA). Darüber hinaus war Whitman als Senior Counsel in der Rechtsabteilung des Office of Inspector General im U.S. Department of Health and Human Services sowie als Senior Corporate Counsel bei Integrated Health Services, Inc. beschäftigt.

Als Anwalt für Gesundheitsrecht war Whitman für mehrere Kanzleien tätig, darunter Reed Smith, LLP and Grove sowie Jaskiewicz and Cobert. Er hat einen Abschluss in Rechtswissenschaften, Juris Doctor, von der American University und einen Bachelor of Arts „cum laude“ vom Hamilton College.

Language Select
Andrew Whitman
Senior Vice President, Government Affairs

Andrew Whitman joined Varian in 2008 as vice president, Government Affairs, and was promoted to senior vice president, Government Affairs in 2016. He is responsible for global government affairs which includes advocating for Varian as the preferred partner to governments for increasing access to radiotherapy, proton therapy, and Varian’s other oncology solutions for patients and health systems.

Prior to joining Varian, Mr. Whitman served as the vice president for the Medical Imaging & Technology Alliance, a division of the National Electrical Manufacturers Association. In addition, he previously worked at the Carmen Group, Inc., a government relations firm in Washington, D.C., where he served as the senior associate for healthcare practice representing healthcare providers on Capitol Hill and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Prior to working at the Carmen Group, Inc., Mr. Whitman served as deputy director, regulatory affairs, and special counsel for the American Psychiatric Association, where he directed and managed the federal regulatory and healthcare policy agenda. His work included contact with high ranking government officials in Congress, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, and the Food and Drug Administration. He also previously worked as senior counsel for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services in the Office of Counsel to the Inspector General, and served as senior corporate counsel for Integrated Health Services, Inc.

Mr. Whitman has practiced healthcare law at several law firms, including Reed Smith, LLP and Grove, and Jaskiewicz and Cobert. He holds a Juris Doctorate from American University and a Bachelor of Arts, cum laude, from Hamilton College.