Rafael A. Torres

Senior Vice President, Strategy

 

Rafael Torres kam 2015 als Senior Vice President for Strategy & Corporate Development zu Varian. In dieser Funktion steuert er die Unternehmensstrategie und leitet die Identifizierung und Umsetzung von Ideen für das Unternehmenswachstum durch Akquisitionen, Investitionen und Partnerschaften, die das derzeitige Geschäftsportfolio von Varian ergänzen.

Bei Varian hat Torres Übernahmen und Veräußerungen geleitet, darunter die Ausgliederung von Varex (NASDAQ: VREX), das Rollup verschiedener Portfolios für die interventionelle Onkologie, die Gründung von Varian Ventures sowie die Übernahme durch Siemens Healthineers.

Bevor er bei Varian anfing, war Rafael Torres als Global Head of Healthcare für GE Equity und GE Ventures tätig, wo er für über 30 Unternehmen im Gesundheitswesen strategische Investitionsportfolios aufbaute. Er war Mitbegründer von GE Ventures und Mitglied in dessen oberstem Führungsgremium. Und er leitete das Team für Investitionen im Gesundheitsbereich und vertrat GE im Aufsichtsrat von Konzerngesellschaften wie InSightec, LipoScience, Navinet und ParadigmHealth. Torres arbeitete außerdem für die Boston Consulting Group und die Citibank N.A.

Er ist Mitglied des Vorstands der Kennedy Lewis Acquisition Corp (NASDAQ:KLAQU). Rafael Torres besitzt einen MBA der Harvard Business School und einen Bachelorabschluss in Wirtschaftswissenschaften von der Universidad del Pacífico in Lima, Peru.

executive_portraits_RaphaelTorres.jpg

Rafael A. Torres

Senior Vice President, Strategy

 

Rafael Torres joined Varian in 2015 as Senior Vice President for Strategy & Corporate Development. In this role, he leads the company's strategy as well as the identification and execution of ideas for growth through acquisitions, investments and partnerships that complement the Company’s current portfolio of businesses.

At Varian, Mr. Torres has led acquisitions and divestitures, including the spinoff of Varex (NASDAQ: VREX), a rollup of interventional oncology offerings, and the creation of Varian Ventures, as well as the acquisition transaction with Siemens Healthineers.

Prior to joining Varian, Mr. Torres served as global head of healthcare for GE Equity and GE Ventures, where he built strategic investment portfolios for more than 30 healthcare companies. He was a founding member of GE Ventures and a member of its senior leadership committee. Mr. Torres led the healthcare investment team, and represented GE on portfolio company boards, including InSightec, LipoScience, Navinet and ParadigmHealth. Mr. Torres also worked for The Boston Consulting Group and Citibank N.A.

Mr. Torres serves on the board of Kennedy Lewis Acquisition Corp (NASDAQ:KLAQU). He holds an MBA from Harvard Business School and a bachelor’s degree in Economics from the Universidad del Pacifico in Lima, Peru.

executive_portraits_RaphaelTorres.jpg