Deepak „Dee“ Khuntia, M.D., FASTRO

Senior Vice President, Medical Affairs & Chief Medical Officer

 

Deepak „Dee“ Khuntia, M.D., FASTRO, kam 2013 zu Varian und leitet das Office of Medical Affairs, das dafür zuständig ist, medizinisch-klinisches Fachwissen für alle Vorgänge bei Varian bereitzustellen, darunter die klinische Forschung, die Schaffung medizinischer Evidenz, die medizinwissenschaftliche Weiterbildung, Produktentwicklung, Produktsupport, Zulassungsangelegenheiten, Regierungsangelegenheiten, Fusionen und Übernahmen. Dr. Khuntia leistete einen führenden Beitrag dazu, technische Innovationen in der Krebstherapie und der kardialen Radiochirurgie zu entwickeln und sie in Krankenhäuser auf der ganzen Welt zu bringen.

Neben seinen Aufgaben bei Varian führt Dr. Khuntia in Teilzeit seine klinische Praxis für Strahlenonkologie in der San Francisco Bay Area weiter. Dabei gilt sein besonderes Interesse fortschrittlichen Bestrahlungstechnologien, Tumoren des Zentralnervensystems, Kopf-Hals-Tumoren und Bronchialkarzinomen. Dr. Khuntia ist Facharzt für Radioonkologie und Fellow der American Society for Radiation Oncology.

Dr. Khuntia erwarb seinen ersten Studienabschluss und seinen medizinischen Hochschulabschluss an der University of Illinois und absolvierte sein Praktikum in Radioonkologie an der Cleveland Clinic. Bevor er in die Bay Area zog, war er Associate Professor an der University of Wisconsin, wo er verschiedene Führungspositionen innehatte: Residency Director, Director of Radiation Oncology Outreach und Leiter des Studiengangs Onkologie der medizinischen Fakultät. Dr. Khuntia gilt als Experte für Hirntumoren, Kopf-Hals-Tumoren und Bronchialkarzinome und hat mehr als 100 Artikel, Buchkapitel und Abstracts veröffentlicht.

executive_portraits_DeeKhuntia.jpg

Deepak “Dee” Khuntia, M.D., FASTRO

Senior Vice President, Medical Affairs & Chief Medical Officer

 

Deepak “Dee” Khuntia, M.D., FASTRO, joined Varian in 2013 and leads the office of Medical Affairs, which is responsible for providing medical-clinical expertise to all Varian operations, including clinical research, medical evidence generation, medical science education, product development, product support, regulatory affairs, government affairs, mergers and acquisitions. Dr. Khuntia has played a leading role in innovating and bringing new cancer treatment and cardiac radiosurgery technologies to hospitals worldwide.

In addition to his responsibilities at Varian, Dr. Khuntia continues to hold a part-time clinical practice in Radiation Oncology in the San Francisco Bay Area, where he has a special interest in advanced radiation treatment technologies, central nervous system tumors, head and neck cancer, and lung cancer. Dr. Khuntia is a board-certified radiation oncologist and Fellow of the American Society for Radiation Oncology.

Dr. Khuntia holds both undergraduate and medical school degrees from the University of Illinois, and completed his residency in Radiation Oncology at the Cleveland Clinic. Prior to moving to the Bay Area, he was an Associate Professor at the University of Wisconsin, where he served multiple leadership roles including Residency Director, Director of Radiation Oncology Outreach, and Course Director of Oncology for the Medical School. Dr. Khuntia is considered an expert in brain tumors, head and neck cancer, and lung cancer and has published more than 100 articles, book chapters, and abstracts.

executive_portraits_DeeKhuntia.jpg