Andrew Whitman

Senior Vice President, Government Affairs, Policy and Market Development

 

Andrew Whitman kam 2008 zu Varian und ist derzeit als Senior Vice President, Government Affairs, Policy and Market Development, tätig. In dieser Funktion gehört es zu seinem Aufgaben, sich dafür einzusetzen, dass Varian auf staatlicher Ebene ein bevorzugter Partner bleibt, um Patienten und Gesundheitssystemen überall auf der Welt einen besseren Zugang zu den Onkologielösungen von Varian zu ermöglichen.

Vor seiner Zeit bei Varian war Whitman als Vice President der Medical Imaging & Technology Alliance, einer Abteilung der National Electrical Manufacturers Association, tätig. Des Weiteren war er bereits bei der Carmen Group, Inc. tätig, einem Unternehmen im Bereich Government Relations aus Washington, D.C. Dort hatte er die Position des Senior Associate for Healthcare Practice inne und vertrat die Anliegen von Gesundheitsdienstleistern auf dem Capitol Hill und im US Department of Health and Human Services.

Vor seiner Tätigkeit bei der Carmen Group, Inc. wirkte Whitman als Deputy Director, Regulatory Affairs, und Special Counsel for the American Psychiatric Association, für die er regulatorische und gesundheitspolitische Angelegenheiten auf nationaler Ebene leitete und verwaltete. Darüber hinaus war Whitman als Senior Counsel in der Rechtsabteilung des Office of Inspector General im U.S. Department of Health and Human Services sowie als Senior Corporate Counsel bei Integrated Health Services, Inc. beschäftigt.

Als Anwalt für Gesundheitsrecht war Whitman für mehrere Kanzleien tätig, darunter Reed Smith, LLP and Grove sowie Jaskiewicz and Cobert. Er hat einen Abschluss in Rechtswissenschaften (Juris Doctor) von der American University und einen Bachelorabschluss cum laude vom Hamilton College.

executive_portraits_AndyWhitman.jpg

Andrew Whitman

Senior Vice President, Government Affairs, Policy & Market Development

 

Andrew Whitman joined Varian in 2008 and currently serves as Senior Vice President, Government Affairs, Policy & Market Development. In this role, his responsibility includes advocating for Varian as the preferred partner to governments for increasing patients’ and health systems’ access to Varian’s oncology solutions across the globe.

Prior to joining Varian, Mr. Whitman served as Vice President for the Medical Imaging & Technology Alliance, a division of the National Electrical Manufacturers Association. In addition, he previously worked at the Carmen Group, Inc., a government relations firm in Washington, D.C., where he served as the Senior Associate for Healthcare Practice, representing healthcare providers on Capitol Hill and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Prior to his role at the Carmen Group, Inc., Mr. Whitman served as Deputy Director, Regulatory Affairs, and Special Counsel for the American Psychiatric Association, where he directed and managed the federal regulatory and healthcare policy agenda. He also previously served as Senior Counsel for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services in the Office of Counsel to the Inspector General, and as Senior Corporate Counsel for Integrated Health Services, Inc.

Mr. Whitman has practiced healthcare law at several law firms, including Reed Smith, LLP and Grove, and Jaskiewicz and Cobert. He holds a Juris Doctorate from American University and a bachelor’s degree, cum laude, from Hamilton College.

executive_portraits_AndyWhitman.jpg